United Kingdom

Nuclear-armed state

215 nuclear weapons

45 nuclear tests

Has not yet joined TPNW

The United Kingdom’s nuclear weapons would be launched from its nuclear-capable submarines which are based off the coast of Scotland at Her Majesty’s Naval Base. One submarine is usually on patrol.

The United Kingdom tested 45 nuclear weapons from 1952-1991. From 1952 to 1963, the British government conducted 12 nuclear test explosions and up to 600 so-called “minor trials” in the South Australian desert and off the Western Australian coast. Between 1957 and 1962, the United Kingdom and the United States tested 33 nuclear weapons at Malden and Kiritimati islands in Kiribati.

In 2019, the United Kingdom spent an estimated $8.9 billion to build and maintain its nuclear weapons.

The United Kingdom did not participate in the negotiations of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and has not yet signed or ratified it.

A public opinion poll conducted by YouGov in March 2017 found that 75 per cent of British people believed that their government should participate in the treaty negotiations, with 9 per cent opposed to participating and 16 per cent undecided.

The leader of the opposition Labour Party, Jeremy Corbyn, said in August 2017 that, with the recent adoption of the treaty by a majority of the world’s governments, “historic progress” was made towards “a world that genuinely meets the security needs of its people”.

The United Kingdom voted against a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that welcomed the adoption of the treaty and called upon “all states that have not yet done so to sign, ratify, accept, approve, or accede to the treaty at the earliest possible date”.

On the opening day of the TPNW negotiating conference in 2017, it joined the United States and several other states in protesting the treaty-making process.

In 2016, the United Kingdom voted against the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

The United Kingdom actively discouraged other states, in particular its former colonies, from supporting the resolution.

No events yet

Support for TPNW in the United Kingdom Get involved with ICAN in the United Kingdom ›

ICAN Cities Appeal:

These cities, towns and provinces support the TPNW

→ Edinburgh

→ Fife

→ Hastings Borough

→ Hebdon Royd Town

→ Manchester

→ Newham

→ Norwich

→ Renfrewshire

→ Shaw and Crompton

→ Tower Hamlets


Parliamentary Pledge

These are the elected officials that have taken the ICAN Parliamentary Pledge to support and promote the TPNW:

United Kingdom Parliament

→Hannah Bardell MP
→Mhairi Black MP
→Ian Blackford MP
→Kirsty Blackman MP
→Deidre Brock MP
→Alan Brown MP
→Ruth Cadbury MP
→Lisa Cameron MP
→Douglas Chapman MP
→Joanna Cherry MP
→Ronnie Cowan MP
→Angela Crawley MP
→Janet Daby MP
→Martyn Day MP
→David Drew MP
→Martin Docherty-Hughes MP
→Jonathan Edwards MP
→Marion Fellows MP
→Paul Flynn MP
→Stephen Gethins MP
→Patricia Gibson MP
→Patrick Grady MP
→Peter Grant MP
→Neil Gray MP
→John Grogan MP
→Fabian Hamilton MP
→Helen Hayes MP
→Drew Hendry MP
→Kelvin Hopkins MP
→Stewart Hosie MP
→Ben Lake MP
→Chris Law MP
→David Linden MP
→Caroline Lucas MP
→Rachael Maskell MP
→Stewart Mcdonald MP
→Stuart McDonald MP
→John McNally MP
→Angus Brendan MacNeil MP
→Carol Monaghan MP
→Ian Murray MPwi
→Gavin Newlands MP
→Brendan O'Hara MP
→Liz Saville Roberts MP
→Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP
→Tommy Sheppard MP
→Alex Sobel MP
→Christopher Stephens MP
→Jo Stevens MP
→Alison Thewliss MP
→Thelma Walker MP
→Catherine West MP
→Philippa Whitford MP
→Hywel Williams MP
→Peter Wishart MP
→Mohammad Yasin MP
→Jonathan Woods MP
→Daniel Zeichner MP
→Debbie Abrahams MP
→Stephen Twigg MP
→Ruth George MP
→Louise Haigh MP
→Paul Blomfield MP
→Jane Dodds MP
→Olivia Blake MP

United Kingdom Scottish Parliament

→George Adam MSP
→Clare Adamson MSP
→Alasdair Allan MSP
→Tom Arthur MSP
→Claudia Beamish MSP
→Colin Beattie MSP
→Keith Brown MSP
→Aileen Campbell MSP
→Willie Coffey MSP
→Angela Constance MSP
→Bruce Crawford MSP
→Roseanna Cunningham MSP
→Ash Denham MSP
→Graeme Dey MSP
→Bob Doris MSP
→James Dornan MSP
→Annabelle Ewing MSP
→Fergus Ewing MSP
→Linda Fabiani MSP
→Neil Findlay MSP
→John Finnie MSP
→Joe FitzPatrick MSP
→Kate Forbes MSP
→Jeane Freeman MSP
→Kenneth Gibson MSP
→Jenny Gilruth MSP
→Mairi Gougeon MSP
→Christine Grahame MSP
→Ross Greer MSP
→Emma Harper MSP
→Patrick Harvie MSP
→Clare Haughey MSP
→Jamie Hepburn MSP
→Fiona Hyslop MSP
→Daniel Johnson MSP
→Alison Johnstone MSP
→Bill Kidd MSP
→Richard Lochhead MSP
→Richard Lyle MSP
→Joan McAlpine MSP
→Gordon MacDonald MSP
→Angus MacDonald MSP
→Fulton MacGregor MSP
→Rona Mackay MSP
→Derek Mackay MSP
→Ivan McKee MSP
→Christina McKelvie MSP
→Stuart McMillan MSP
→Ben Macpherson MSP
→Ruth Maguire MSP
→Gillian Martin MSP
→John Mason MSP
→Michael Matheson MSP
→Alex Neil MSP
→Gil Paterson MSP
→Shona Robison MSP
→Gail Ross MSP
→Mark Ruskell MSP
→Michael Russell MSP
→Elaine Smith MSP
→Shirley-Anne Somerville MSP
→Stewart Stevenson MSP
→Kevin Stewart MSP
→Nicola Sturgeon MSP
→John Swinney MSP
→Maree Todd MSP
→David Torrance MSP
→Maureen Watt MSP
→Paul Wheelhouse MSP
→Sandra White MSP
→Andy Wightman MSP
→Humza Yousaf MSP

United Kingdom Welsh Assembly

→Llyr Gruffydd AM
→Mike Hedges AM
→Dai Lloyd AM
→David Rees AM
→Bethan Sayed AM
→Simon Thomas AM
→Leanne Wood AM
→Adam Price AM
→Sian Gwenllian AM
→Delyth Jewell AM
→Helen Mary Jones AM
→Neil McEvoy AM
→Carwyn Jones AM
→Rhun ap Iorwerth AM
→Mick Antoniw AM
→Elin Jones AM

United Kingdom European Parliament

→Jill Evans MEP
→Ian Hudghton MEP
→Jean Lambert MEP
→Molly Scott Cato MEP
→Alyn Smith MEP
→Derek Vaughan MEP
→Keith Taylor MEP
→Julie Ward MEP
→Catherine Rowett MEP

United Kingdom Local Legislators

→Sharif Ali Ashraf
→Steffany McGee
→William Bishop
→Nathan Randles
→Sam Al-Hamdani
→Hfsa Fahad
→Martin Judd
→Heather Price
→Derek Heffernan
→Emilie McSwiggan
→Sue Miller
→Natalie Bennett
→Joan Walmsley
Cllr Kevin Warnes
→Jenny Jones
→Jenny Tonge 
→Joan Walmsley
→Dale Barton
→Mike Bradley
→David Noland
→Geoff Reid
→Dave Taylor
→Kevin Warnes


Find a local ICAN partner to get active Become an ICAN Partner Organization ›

  • 80000 voices


  • Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy 


  • Article 36 


  • British Pugwash 


  • Campaign Against Arms Trade 


  • Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament UK (CND)


  • Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament Cymru


  • Christian Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament 


  • Edinburgh Peace and Justice Centre


  • Fellowship of Reconciliation


  • Greenpeace UK 




  • Hastings Against War


  • Medact


  • Movement for the Abolition of War 


  • No Waste Alliance 
  • Nuclear Free Local Authorities


  • Nuclear Information Service 


  • Pax Christi British Section 


  • Quaker Peace & Social Witness 


  • Scientists for Global Responsibility (UK)


  • Scottish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament


  • Trident Ploughshares 
  • United Nations House of Scotland


  • Women's International League for Peace and Freedom 


  • World Court Project UK
  • Legacy of the Atomic Bomb. Recognition for Atomic Test Survivors (LABRATS)


  • Yorkshire Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament


  • Pax Christi Scotland


  • Anglican Pacifist Fellowship