Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has not yet joined the TPNW


Kyrgyzstan has not yet signed or ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. It did not formally participate in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017 and thus did not vote on its adoption.


National position

Kyrgyzstan has abstained from voting on an annual UN General Assembly resolution that welcomes the adoption of the treaty and calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to it “at the earliest possible date”.



In 2016, Kyrgyzstan abstained from voting in the first committee of the UN General Assembly on a draft resolution that ultimately established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Kyrgyzstan was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.


Other information

Kyrgyzstan is a state party to the 2006 Treaty of Semipalatinsk, which established Central Asia as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.