Nuclear-weapon-free state

Voted in favour of adopting TPNW

Has signed TPNW, but not yet ratified

Indonesia has signed but not yet ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Retno Marsudi, the minister for foreign affairs of Indonesia, signed the treaty on 20 September 2017. 

Indonesia participated in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017 and voted in favour of its adoption.

Indonesia has promoted universal adherence to the treaty, including by co-sponsoring a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to the treaty “at the earliest possible date”.

In its opening statement to the negotiating conference, Indonesia argued for “a shift in the principles of nuclear disarmament” to emphasise the “humanitarian imperative” and “render the deterrence doctrine obsolete”. It described the conference as “the culmination of decades of international endeavours on nuclear disarmament”.

In 2016, Indonesia was a co-sponsor of the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Indonesia was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.

Indonesia is a state party to the 1995 Treaty of Bangkok, which established Southeast Asia as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.

No events yet

Support for TPNW in Indonesia Get involved with ICAN in Indonesia ›

Parliamentary Pledge

These are the elected officials that have taken the ICAN Parliamentary Pledge to support and promote the TPNW:

→ Dave Akbarshah Fikarno
→ Moh. Arief S. Suditomo

Find a local ICAN partner to get active Become an ICAN Partner Organization ›

  • Institute of International Studies UGM