Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has signed the TPNW

Has ratified the TPNW

Honduras has signed and ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Honduras submitted its ratification on 24 October 2020, bringing the treaty to the 50 state-mark required for its entry into force

Marïa Dolores Agüero Lara, the then-minister for foreign affairs of Honduras, signed the treaty on 20 September 2017. 

Honduras participated in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017 and voted in favour of its adoption.

The national congress of Honduras unanimously approved ratification of the treaty on 24 September 2020.

Honduras has promoted universal adherence to the treaty, including by co-sponsoring a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to the treaty “at the earliest possible date”.

In 2016, Honduras was a co-sponsor of the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Honduras was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.

Honduras is a state party to the 1967 Treaty of Tlatelolco, which established Latin America and the Caribbean as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.