Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has acceded to the TPNW

Acceded: 6 August 2020



Niue acceded to the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on 6 August 2020.



In a statement issued on 6 August 2020, the premier and minister of external affairs of Niue, Dalton Tagelagi, said: “Niue is honoured to accede to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, drawing us closer to witnessing this very significant treaty enter into force.”

He said that the “catastrophic impacts” of nuclear testing in the Pacific region are still being felt today, and urged more states to “join us in this united commitment to enter this treaty into force in the near future and eliminate nuclear weapons”.

“Niue shares deep concern at the disastrous humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons and today we join together in celebrating the significant contributions we have made in bringing an end to the era of nuclear weapons,” he said.



Niue was not able to participate in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017, as the rules of procedure limited participation to UN member states and observer states. Therefore, it did not vote on the adoption of the treaty.



Niue was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.


Other information

Niue is a state party to the 1985 Treaty of Rarotonga, which established the South Pacific as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.