Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has signed the TPNW

Has ratified the TPNW

Nicaragua has signed and ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Maria Rubiales de Chamorro, the vice-minister for foreign affairs and permanent representative of Nicaragua to the United Nations, signed the treaty on 22 September 2017. She deposited the country’s instrument of ratification with the UN secretary-general on 19 July 2018.

Nicaragua participated in the negotiation of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons at the United Nations in New York in 2017 but was absent for the vote on its adoption.

Nicaragua has promoted universal adherence to the treaty, including by co-sponsoring a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to the treaty “at the earliest possible date”.

In 2016, Nicaragua abstained from voting on the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Nicaragua was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.

Nicaragua is a state party to the 1967 Treaty of Tlatelolco, which established Latin America and the Caribbean as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.