Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has signed the TPNW

Has ratified the TPNW

Ecuador has signed and ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Lenin Moreno Garcés, the president of Ecuador, signed the treaty on 20 September 2017, and called on “all countries to subscribe to this historic international instrument”. José Valencia, the minister for foreign affairs of Ecuador, deposited the country’s instrument of ratification with the UN secretary-general on 25 September 2019.

Ecuador participated in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017 and voted in favour of its adoption.

Ecuador has promoted universal adherence to the treaty, including by co-sponsoring a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to the treaty “at the earliest possible date”.

In a statement to the United Nations in October 2019, Ecuador said that the “best tribute” that states can pay to the victims of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki is to sign and ratify the treaty. 

In its opening statement to the negotiating conference, Educador said that “the prohibition and elimination of nuclear weapons has been a constant priority [for Ecuador] for more than seven decades”.

In 2016, Ecuador was a co-sponsor of the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Ecuador was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.

Ecuador is a state party to the 1967 Treaty of Tlatelolco, which established Latin America and the Caribbean as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.