Cook Islands

Nuclear-weapon-free state

Has acceded to the TPNW

Acceded: 4 September 2018



The Cook Islands has acceded to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. It did not participate in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017, as the rules of procedure limited participation to UN member states and observer states. Thus it did not vote on the treaty’s adoption.



Siai Taylor, a foreign affairs officer at the ministry of foreign affairs of the Cook Islands, deposited the country’s instrument of accession with the UN secretary-general on 4 September 2018.

Siai Taylor, an officer at the ministry of foreign affairs of the Cook Islands, deposits the country’s instrument of accession on 4 September 2018. Credit: UNOLA



The Cook Islands was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.


Other information

The Cook Islands is a state party to the 1985 Treaty of Rarotonga, which was signed on the island of Rarotonga in the Cook Islands and established the South Pacific as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.


No events yet
No related news

Get involved. Help get this country on board with the TPNW>

There are currently no elected representatives or local or regional bodies in this country committed to supporting the TPNW through the ICAN Cities Appeal or ICAN Parliamentary Pledge. Find out what you can do to support the TPNW in this country.

Find a local ICAN partner to get active Become an ICAN Partner Organization ›

  • No local partner organisations