Nuclear-weapon-free state

Voted in favour of adopting TPNW

Has signed TPNW, but not yet ratified

Chile has signed but not yet ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Michelle Bachelet, the then-president of Chile, signed the treaty on 20 September 2017. 

Chile participated in the negotiation of the treaty at the United Nations in New York in 2017 and voted in favour of its adoption.

Chile has promoted universal adherence to the treaty, including by co-sponsoring a UN General Assembly resolution in 2019 that calls upon all states to sign, ratify, or accede to the treaty “at the earliest possible date”.

In its opening statement to the negotiating conference, Chile said that the treaty-making process had come about as a result of the determined efforts of civil society and “a coalition of peace-loving states that do not want to remain indifferent to the humanitarian consequences of a possible use of nuclear weapons”.

In 2016, Chile was a co-sponsor of the UN General Assembly resolution that established the formal mandate for states to commence the negotiations in 2017 on “a legally binding instrument to prohibit nuclear weapons, leading towards their total elimination”.

Chile was among 127 states that endorsed a “humanitarian pledge” in 2015–16 to cooperate “in efforts to stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. The pledge was instrumental in building momentum and support for convening the negotiations.

Chile is a state party to the 1967 Treaty of Tlatelolco, which established Latin America and the Caribbean as a nuclear-weapon-free zone.

No events yet

Support for TPNW in Chile Get involved with ICAN in Chile ›

Parliamentary Pledge

These are the elected officials that have taken the ICAN Parliamentary Pledge to support and promote the TPNW:

→Tomás Hirsch MP
→Alejandra Sepúlveda MP
→Félix González MP
→Florcita Alarcón MP
→Gael Yeomans MP
→Guillermo Teillier MP
→Gonzalo Winter MP
→Jorge Elias Brito MP
→Camila Rojas MP
→Amaro Labra Sepúlveda MP
→Alejandro Bernales MP
→Alexis Sepúlveda MP
→Carlos Abel Jarpa MP
→Juan Ignacio Latorre MP
→Maite Orsini MP
→Marisela Santibáñez MP
→Marcela Hernando MP
→Miguel Crispi MP
→Pablo Vidal MP
→Pamela Jiles MP
→Pepe Auth MP
→Tucapel Jiménez MP
→Renato Garin MP
→Vlado Mirosevic MP

Find a local ICAN partner to get active Become an ICAN Partner Organization ›