122 states reaffirm their support for the Nuclear Ban Treaty


Each year, the world gathers in New York to discuss disarmament and international security during the UNGA’s First Committee. Yesterday (nov 1, 2018), the First Committee passed a resolution supporting the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and calling on all states to join it as soon as possible, by majority vote.

L.24, Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, is adopted with a vote 122 in favour, 41 against, and 16 abstentions. #FirstCommittee #nuclearban

— Reaching Critical Will (@RCW_) November 1, 2018

Resolution L.24 :

  • Welcomes the adoption of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons1 on 7 July 2017 and all 70 states that have signed, ratified or acceded to the treaty so far
  • Calls upon all States that have not yet done so to sign, ratify, accept, approve or accede to the Treaty at the earliest possible date
  • Calls upon those States in a position to do so to promote adherence to the Treaty through bilateral, subregional, regional and multilateral contacts, outreach and other means

The resolution was co-sponsored by 70 states, and received 122 votes in favour, 41 against and 15 abstentions. Read the full text of the resolution and find the list of co-sponsors here.



In addition to resolution L24, the First Committee approved another 20 resolutions and 3 decisions on nuclear disarmament, including a resolution on the “Humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons” presented by Austria, by which the Assembly would stress that it is in the interest of the very survival of humanity that nuclear weapons never be used again, and emphasize that the only way to guarantee that nuclear weapons will never be used again is their total elimination.