SHARE

Celebrate a Nuclear Weapons Free Future January 22, 2021 at 9:00am - 10am | virtual | PO Box 224 Brisbane, QLD 4077 Australia Organised by: Brisbane City Council Councillors - not LM Virtual event |

About this Event -

 

Peace activists, politicians and ALL who care about future generations and our planet:

Join WILPF, along with ICAN and others for a national, live, one-hour webinar featuring some of Australia's leading anti-nuclear voices.

The Entry into Force of the Ban Treaty will be celebrated loudly here in Australia where the Nobel Peace Prize-winning organisation ICAN was founded and took roots. WILPF and many others have contributed to these efforts from earliest days.

Let's now take a moment to consider what we've achieved together—and gather momentum for the next steps.

 

Webinar speakers:

  • Chair Claire Moore (UNAA Qld President and Former Senator)

  • Ray Acheson (WILPF's international Reaching Critical Will program)

  • Aunty Sue Coleman-Haseldine (Kokatha elder, activist and nuclear test survivor)

  • Terri Butler, MP, Shadow Minister for the Environment and Water

  • Dimity Hawkins (ICAN co-founder)

  • Bishop Philip Huggins (President, National Council of Churches of Australia)

  • And more speakers to come.

 

Details:

Online Webinar (via zoom)

7 am AWST Perth / 8.30 am ACST Darwin / 9 am AEST Brisbane / 9.30 am ACDT Adelaide / 10 am AEDT Sydney.

Registration is free. Everyone is welcome. (Maximum 100 participants, so do book early.)

Register here.