Breakdown of L.41 Voting Result


A breakdown of votes on resolution L.41 at the United Nations.


States that voted yes

Of the 123 states that voted yes to resolution L.41, 44 were from Africa, 29 from Latin America & the Caribbean, 12 from Western Asia, 11 from Southeast Asia, 11 from the Pacific, six from Western Europe, five from South Asia, and two from Central Asia.

Non-voting states

Of the 16 states that did not participate in the vote, 11 are Pledge endorsers (Afghanistan, Benin, Djibouti, Haiti, Honduras, Liberia, Mongolia, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles and Tajikistan). Two of the non-voting states were co-sponsors of L.41 (Honduras and Liberia). The other non-voting states were Georgia, Moldova, South Sudan, Syria and Ukraine.

Abstaining states

Of the 16 states that abstained from voting, six are Pledge endorsers (Guyana, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Nicaragua, Sudan and Vanuatu). The other abstaining states were Armenia, Belarus, China, Finland, India, Morocco, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Switzerland and Uzbekistan.

States that voted no

Of the 38 states that voted no, 27 are members of NATO and two are NATO “aspirant countries” (Bosnia & Herzegovina and Montenegro). Two Pledge endorsers voted no (Andorra and Serbia). The other states that voted no were Australia, Israel, Japan, Micronesia, Monaco, the Republic of Korea and Russia.



Most African states voted yes. Seven did not participate in the vote (Benin, Djibouti, Liberia, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, South Sudan) and three abstained (Mali, Morocco, Sudan). No African state voted against the resolution.

Latin America & Caribbean

Of the 33 Latin American and Caribbean states, 29 voted yes to the resolution. Two abstained (Guyana, Nicaragua) and two were absent (Haiti and Honduras). No state from the region voted against the resolution.

South & Southeast Asia

All Southeast Asian states voted yes to the resolution. Of the eight South Asian states (members of SAARC), five voted yes (Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka), two abstained (India and Pakistan) and one was absent (Afghanistan).

Central Asia

Of the five Central Asian states, two voted yes to the resolution (Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan), two abstained (Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan) and one was absent (Tajikistan).

Western Asia

Most Western Asian states voted yes to the resolution (Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Yemen). Two voted no (Israel and Turkey), one abstained (Armenia) and two were absent (Georgia and Syria).

Western Europe

Most Western European states voted against the resolution. Only Austria, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Malta, San Marino and Sweden voted yes, while Finland, the Netherlands and Switzerland abstained. Five European Union members voted yes (Austria, Cyprus, Ireland, Malta and Sweden).

Eastern Europe

Most Eastern European states voted against the resolution. Two voted yes (Azerbaijan and Macedonia), two abstained (Armenia and Belarus) and three were absent (Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine).


Ten of the 12 Pacific island states voted yes to the resolution. One voted no (Micronesia) and one abstained (Vanuatu). The Cook Islands and Niue, which are Pledge endorsers, did not participate in the vote, as they are not UN members. New Zealand voted yes and Australia voted no.