6 August 1985 | South Pacific becomes nuclear-free

6 August 1985

The South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty is signed at Rarotonga in the Cook Islands. The treaty prohibits the manufacturing, stationing or testing of nuclear weapons within the area.

Add your comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.