SHARE
event-user-submitted

After Trinity: 75 years of resistance
July 16, 2020 at 12pm - 1:30pm
Organised by: Gem Romuld

RSVP

Zoom
Online
Worldwide, MI 02000
United States


FREE
EVENT DETAIL -

We were unwilling, unknowing and uncompensated participants in the world’s largest science experiment,’ Tina Cordova, a New Mexico “downwinder” and leader of the Tularosa Basin Downwinders’ Consortium.

16 July 2020 is the 75th anniversary of the first nuclear explosion, code-named “Trinity”. The race to build nuclear weapons culminated in the Trinity test in south central New Mexico in the US, paving the way for the nuclear incineration of Hiroshima and Nagasaki a few weeks later.

Decades of radioactive violence, contamination and land dispossession followed these events in 1945. Nuclear testing in dozens of locations around the world, including Australia, has left a deadly legacy for people and the environment. Despite this, people on the front-lines have survived and continue to resist these weapons of mass destruction.

Hear their stories, heed their calls for action:

  • Tina Cordova, co-founder of the Tularosa Basin Downwinders Consortium, New Mexico, US
  • Koko Kondo, survivor of the Hiroshima bombing and prominent Japanese activist
  • Karina Lester, Yankunytjatjara-Anangu second-generation survivor of nuclear testing in Australia
  • MC: Robert Tickner AO, ICAN Australia Ambassador
The UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons is the first treaty to comprehensively outlaw nuclear weapons. It compels states to address the needs of victims and impacted environments, and acknowledges the disproportionate impact of nuclear weapon activities on Indigenous peoples. Justice for survivors is an essential part of the quest for a world free of nuclear weapons.

Time conversions

Adelaide, Australia 11:30am, 16 July
Tokyo, Japan, 11am, 16 July
Albuquerque, USA, 8pm, 15 July
New York, USA, 10pm, 15 July
Jakarta, Indonesia, 9am, 16 July
Auckland, New Zealand, 2pm, 16 July

After Trinity: 75 years of resistance

July 16, 2020 at 12pm - 1:30pm

Zoom
Online
Worldwide, MI 02000
United States

FREE