Structure and people

ICAN is a broad, inclusive campaign, focused on mobilizing civil society around the world to support the specific objective of negotiating a global treaty banning nuclear weapons. The ICAN international structure consists of partner organizations, an international steering group and an international staff team. The staff team facilitates the work of partner organizations and is supervised and guided by the steering group.

ICAN’s statement of values →

ICAN’s international structure →

International staff team

Beatrice Fihn
Executive Director
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: beatrice@icanw.org
Phone: + 41 (0) 22 788 20 63


Arielle Denis
Regional Director, Europe, Middle East & Africa
Email: arielle@icanw.org

Tim Wright
Regional Director, Asia & Pacific
Email: tim@icanw.org

Daniel Högsta
Network Coordinator
Email: daniel@icanw.org

Communications and Media

Daniela Varano
Communications Manager
Email: daniela@icanw.org
Press enquiries: + 41 787 262 645

Operations and Administration

Alexandra Reidon
Administration and Finance Manager
Email: alexandra@icanw.org

Fanny Udin
Operations Coordinator
Email: fanny@icanw.org


Steering group organisations

+ Article 36

Location: London, United Kingdom
Email: thomas@article36.org
+ Latin America Human Security Network

Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Email: cristianwittmann@gmail.com
+ Norwegian People’s Aid

Location: Oslo, Norway
Email: gretheo@npaid.org

Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Email: snyder@paxforpeace.nl
+ Peace Boat

Location: Tokyo, Japan
Email: kawasaki@peaceboat.gr.jp

  • sheen

    “If Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr were alive today, they would be part of ICAN.”

    Martin Sheen Actor and activist

  • bankimoon

    “I salute ICAN for working with such commitment and creativity.”

    Ban Ki-moon UN chief

  • yokoono

    “We can do it together. With your help, our voice will be made still stronger. Imagine peace.”

    Yoko Ono Artist

  • jodywilliams

    “Governments say a nuclear weapons ban is unlikely. Don’t believe it. They said the same about a mine ban treaty.”

    Jody Williams Nobel laureate

  • desmondtutu

    “With your support, we can take ICAN its full distance – all the way to zero nuclear weapons.”

    Desmond Tutu Nobel laureate

  • herbiehancock

    “Because I cannot tolerate these appalling weapons, I whole-heartedly support ICAN.”

    Herbie Hancock Jazz musician

  • hansblix

    “I am proud to support the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons.”

    Hans Blix Weapons inspector

  • dalailama

    “I can imagine a world without nuclear weapons, and I support ICAN.”

    Dalai Lama Nobel laureate