icannorway

Structure and people

ICAN is a broad, inclusive campaign, informed by the need, urgency and feasibility of abolishing nuclear weapons, and focused on mobilizing civil society around the specific objective of negotiating a global nuclear weapons abolition treaty. The ICAN international structure consists of Partner Organizations, an International Steering Group and an International Staff Team. The International Staff Team facilitates the work of Partner Organizations and is supervised/guided by the International Steering Group.

ICAN’s international structure →

ICAN’s statement of values →

 

International Steering Group
+ A/Prof Tilman Ruff AM (Co-Chair) (Australia)

Position: Co-Chair, International Steering Group
Partner organization: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Email: tar@unimelb.edu.au
+ Mr Akira Kawasaki (Co-Chair) (Japan)

Position: Co-Chair, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Peace Boat
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Email: kawasaki@peaceboat.gr.jp
+ Dr Rebecca Johnson (Co-Chair) (United Kingdom)

Position: Co-Chair, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy
Location: London, United Kingdom
Email: rej@acronym.org.uk
+ Ms Ray Acheson (Canada)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom
Location: New York, United States
Email: ray@reachingcriticalwill.org
+ Ms Arielle Denis (France)

Position: Member (ex officio), International Steering Group
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: arielle@icanw.org
+ Ms Beatrice Fihn (Switzerland)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: beatrice@reachingcriticalwill.org
+ Ms Josefin Lind (Sweden)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Swedish Physicians against Nuclear Weapons
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Email: josefin.lind@slmk.org
+ Mr John Loretz (United States)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
Location: Boston, United States
Email: jloretz@ippnw.org
+ Dr Robert Mtonga (Zambia)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Zambian Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
Location: Lusaka, Zambia
Email: robertmtonga@yahoo.co.uk
+ Mr Thomas Nash (United Kingdom)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Article 36
Location: London, United Kingdom
Email: thomas@article36.org
+ Ms Grethe Østern (Norway)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: Norwegian People’s Aid
Location: Oslo, Norway
Email: gretheo@npaid.org
+ Ms Susi Snyder (Netherlands)

Position: Member, International Steering Group
Partner organization: IKV Pax Christi
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Email: snyder@ikvpaxchristi.nl
+ Mr Tim Wright (Australia)

Position: Member (ex officio), International Steering Group
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Email: tim@icanw.org

 

International Staff Team
+ Ms Arielle Denis

Position: Director (Europe, Middle East & Africa)
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: arielle@icanw.org
+ Mr Daniel Högsta

Position: Campaign and Communications Assistant
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: daniel@icanw.org
+ Mr Magnus Løvold

Position: Network Coordinator
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: lovold@icanw.org
+ Ms Alexandra Reidon

Position: Administration & Finance Officer
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: alexandra@icanw.org
+ Ms Daniela Varano

Position: Communications Coordinator
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: daniela@icanw.org
+ Ms Isabelle Wippermann

Position: Operations Coordinator
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: isabelle@icanw.org
+ Mr Tim Wright

Position: Director (Asia Pacific)
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Email: tim@icanw.org

 

Additional staff and contacts here →


  • sheen

    “If Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr were alive today, they would be part of ICAN.”

    Martin Sheen Actor and activist

  • bankimoon

    “I salute ICAN for working with such commitment and creativity.”

    Ban Ki-moon UN chief

  • yokoono

    “We can do it together. With your help, our voice will be made still stronger. Imagine peace.”

    Yoko Ono Artist

  • jodywilliams

    “Governments say a nuclear weapons ban is unlikely. Don’t believe it. They said the same about a mine ban treaty.”

    Jody Williams Nobel laureate

  • desmondtutu

    “With your support, we can take ICAN its full distance – all the way to zero nuclear weapons.”

    Desmond Tutu Nobel laureate

  • herbiehancock

    “Because I cannot tolerate these appalling weapons, I whole-heartedly support ICAN.”

    Herbie Hancock Jazz musician

  • hansblix

    “I am proud to support the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons.”

    Hans Blix Weapons inspector

  • dalailama

    “I can imagine a world without nuclear weapons, and I support ICAN.”

    Dalai Lama Nobel laureate