icannorway

Structure and people

ICAN is a broad, inclusive campaign, informed by the need, urgency and feasibility of abolishing nuclear weapons, and focused on mobilizing civil society around the specific objective of negotiating a global nuclear weapons abolition treaty. The ICAN international structure consists of Partner Organizations, an International Steering Group and an International Staff Team. The International Staff Team facilitates the work of Partner Organizations and is supervised/guided by the International Steering Group.

ICAN’s statement of values →

ICAN International Structure 

 

International Steering Group

+ Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy

Contact: Dr Rebecca Johnson

Partner organization: Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy

Location: London, United Kingdom

Email: rej@acronym.org.uk

 

+ Article 36

Contact: Mr Thomas Nash

Partner organization: Article 36

Location: London, United Kingdom

Email: thomas@article36.org

 

+ International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW)

Contact: A/Prof Tilman Ruff AM

Partner organization: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War

Location: Melbourne, Australia

Email: tar@unimelb.edu.au

 

Contact: Mr John Loretz

Partner organization: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War

Location: Boston, United States

Email: jloretz@ippnw.org

 

+ Norwegian People’s Aid

Contact: Ms Grethe Østern

Partner organization: Norwegian People’s Aid

Location: Oslo, Norway

Email: gretheo@npaid.org

 

+ PAX

Contact: Mrs Susi Snyder

Partner organization: Pax

Location: Utrecht, Netherlands

Email: snyder@paxforpeace.nl

 

+ Peace Boat

Contact: Mr Akira Kawasaki

Partner organization: Peace Boat

Location: Tokyo, Japan

Email: kawasaki@peaceboat.gr.jp

 

+ Swedish Physicians against Nuclear Weapons (SLMK)

Contact: Ms Josefin Lind

Partner organization: Swedish Physicians against Nuclear Weapons

Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Email: josefin.lind@slmk.org

 

+ Zambian Health Workers for Social Responsibility

Contact: Dr Robert Mtonga

Partner organization: Zambian Health Workers for Social Responsibility

Location: Lusaka, Zambia

Email: robertmtonga@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

International Staff Team

+ Ms Beatrice Fihn

Position: Executive Director 
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: beatrice@icanw.org 
+ Ms Arielle Denis

Position: Director (Europe, Middle East & Africa)
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: arielle@icanw.org
+ Mr Daniel Högsta

Position: Campaign and Communications Officer
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: daniel@icanw.org
+ Mr Magnus Løvold

Position: Campaign and Advocacy Director
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: lovold@icanw.org
+ Ms Alexandra Reidon

Position: Administration & Finance Officer
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: alexandra@icanw.org
+ Ms Daniela Varano

Position: Campaign Communications Coordinator
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Email: daniela@icanw.org
+ Mr Tim Wright

Position: Director (Asia Pacific)
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Email: tim@icanw.org

 

Additional staff and contacts here →


  • sheen

    “If Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr were alive today, they would be part of ICAN.”

    Martin Sheen Actor and activist

  • bankimoon

    “I salute ICAN for working with such commitment and creativity.”

    Ban Ki-moon UN chief

  • yokoono

    “We can do it together. With your help, our voice will be made still stronger. Imagine peace.”

    Yoko Ono Artist

  • jodywilliams

    “Governments say a nuclear weapons ban is unlikely. Don’t believe it. They said the same about a mine ban treaty.”

    Jody Williams Nobel laureate

  • desmondtutu

    “With your support, we can take ICAN its full distance – all the way to zero nuclear weapons.”

    Desmond Tutu Nobel laureate

  • herbiehancock

    “Because I cannot tolerate these appalling weapons, I whole-heartedly support ICAN.”

    Herbie Hancock Jazz musician

  • hansblix

    “I am proud to support the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons.”

    Hans Blix Weapons inspector

  • dalailama

    “I can imagine a world without nuclear weapons, and I support ICAN.”

    Dalai Lama Nobel laureate