Progress towards ratification

The countries below have publicly stated that they are in the process of becoming parties to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. The treaty will enter into force once 50 states have ratified or acceded to it.


  • Algeria: “Algeria intends to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons as soon as possible.” (26 September 2019)
  • Brazil: “[Brazil] is honoured to have been the first country to sign. Our ratification process is under way.” (10 October 2018)
  • Cambodia: “Having signed the TPNW, Cambodia is a strong supporter of general and complete nuclear disarmament and we are fully engaged in commitment to ratify and implement this treaty.” (26 September 2019)
  • Central African Republic: “The internal procedure for ratifying the [TPNW] is in progress.” (12 October 2018)
  • Cote d’Ivoire: “Our country is fully committed to non-proliferation and disarmament and intends to bolster its commitment as soon as possible by depositing its instrument of ratification for the TPNW.” (26 September 2019)
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo: “The government is currently working on its ratification.” (16 October 2018)
  • Fiji: “Fiji is in the process of ratifying the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which it has signed on to, in 2017.” (15 October 2019)
  • Ghana: “Ghana has signed the [TPNW] and is well advanced towards its early ratification.” (15 October 2019)
  • Guatemala: The congress concluded its second reading for the TPNW on 10 September 2019.
  • Honduras: The congress approved ratification of the TPNW on 13 September 2019.
  • Ireland: “Ireland is currently taking the necessary steps to ensure that domestic legislation is enacted to allow Ireland to ratify the TPNW and we hope this will be completed before the end of this year.” (26 September 2019)
  • Jamaica: “Jamaica continues to undertake its internal legal and administrative processes to pave the way for us to join others who have ratified the [TPNW].” (14 October 2019)
  • Malawi: “Malawi is fully committed to the treaty and is looking forward to ratifying it with an intention to become a state party to the treaty as soon as possible.” (12 October 2018)
  • Mongolia: “Mongolia is planning to accede the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in the near future.” (14 October 2019)
  • Myanmar: “As a signatory member of the [TPNW], Myanmar is actively considering to ratify it.” (16 October 2019)
  • Nepal: “Nepal has initiated the necessary domestic procedures to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, a landmark agreement toward the total elimination of nuclear weapons.” (16 October 2019)
  • Paraguay: “The Paraguayan delegation was one of the first signatories to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, currently under legislative review constitutional procedures prior to its eventual approval and ratification.” (19 October 2018)
  • Philippines: “The Philippines also champions the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, or ban treaty – a positive step towards nuclear disarmament – and thus we are working towards its ratification.” (22 October 2018)
  • Sudan: “We would like to renew our support for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which we took part in drafting and voting on, and we look forward to signing and ratifying this treaty very soon.” (22 October 2018)
  • Tanzania:  “The United Republic of Tanzania in 2017, along with other 122 countries, adopted the historic Treaty on Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which was officially signed on 26 September 2019, of which its ratification process is underway.” (16 October 2019)
  • Timor-Leste: “We are in the process of ratification as we view [the TPNW] as an important international norm for peace, our collective security, and preservation of human life.” (16 October 2019)


Last updated: 16 October 2019