About ICAN Australia

ICAN was launched at the Victorian parliament house in Melbourne in 2007. Since then, the campaign has been embraced by individuals and organisations throughout the world. To learn more about the original impetus behind the campaign, please enjoy this April 2016 speech from Ronald McCoy. We have a small staff team in Melbourne and Sydney, but rely heavily on the tireless work of our volunteers. Please contact us to get involved.



+ Prof. Richard Tanter (president)

Richard has worked on peace, security and environment issues in East and Southeast Asia as analyst, policy advocate and activist since the 1970s. He works with the Nautilus Institute, and teaches on nuclear and Indonesian questions at Melbourne University. His most recent book, written with Desmond Ball, is The Tools of Owatatsumi: Japan’s Ocean Surveillance and Defence, (with Desmond Ball), Canberra, ANU Press. Richard also maintains the Nautilus Institute Australian Defence Facilities and Australia Forces Abroad public documentation websites.


+ Dr Sue Wareham OAM (vice-president)

Sue Wareham is a retired GP and a Vice-President of the Medical Association for Prevention of War. She has played an active part in the peace and anti-nuclear movement since the 1980s, and was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia. She was one of the founding members of ICAN.

+ Jessica Lawson (secretary)

Jessica has been involved with ICAN since 2013. She has a Bachelor of Journalism and a Master of International Relations. She recently completed a Master’s thesis that examined the prospect of middle power states and non state actors bringing about negotiations on a treaty banning nuclear weapons, despite nuclear weapon states undermining any effort to do so.

+ Dr Peter Karamoskos (treasurer)

Peter Karamoskos is a nuclear radiologist in private practice. He serves as the public representative on both the Radiation Health Committee and the Nuclear Safety Committee of the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency.

+ Dr Margaret Beavis

Margaret Beavis is a general practitioner with a strong interest in public health. She teaches at Melbourne University and is currently president of the Medical Association for Prevention of War.

+ Dimity Hawkins

Dimity has been involved in community and non-government organisations in Australia and overseas on disarmament, nuclear chain and social justice issues for over two decades. She was one of the founding members of ICAN. She is a PhD candidate at Swinburne University, with a BA in Politics and Public Policy (Hons).

+ Dr Daryl Le Cornu

Daryl is a lecturer, curriculum consultant and textbook writer. He has many years experience teaching and designing curriculum for history and legal studies in government schools. He is currently Co-Vice President of the NSW Division of the United Nations Association of Australia and a member of the Academic Council of the United Nations.

+ Dr Tilman Ruff AM

Tilman Ruff is an infectious diseases and public health physician at the University of Melbourne, international medical advisor for Australian Red Cross, and serves on ICAN’s International Steering Group. He is also Co-President of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War. He was one of the founding members of ICAN.

+ Dave Sweeney

Dave Sweeney has been active in the uranium mining and nuclear debate for over two decades through his work with the media, trade unions and environment groups on mining, resource and Indigenous issues. He is a national nuclear campaigner with the Australian Conservation Foundation. He was one of the founding members of ICAN.



+ Tim Wright (Campaign Director)

Tim Wright is Asia-Pacific director of ICAN. He is a member of the international staff team and has been involved in the campaign since 2006. He has degrees in law and arts from the University of Melbourne.


+ Gem Romuld (Outreach Coordinator)

Gem Romuld joined the ICAN team in 2013. She has worked with various groups campaigning for a nuclear free future in Melbourne and Sydney, and produces the Radioactive Show at 3CR. She has degrees in communications and law and aims to convince civil society to demand a global ban on nuclear weapons!


  • sheen

    “If Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr were alive today, they would be part of ICAN.”

    Martin Sheen Actor and activist

  • bankimoon

    “I salute ICAN for working with such commitment and creativity.”

    Ban Ki-moon Former UN chief

  • yokoono

    “We can do it together. With your help, our voice will be made still stronger. Imagine peace.”

    Yoko Ono Artist

  • jodywilliams

    “Governments say a nuclear weapons ban is unlikely. Don’t believe it. They said the same about a mine ban treaty.”

    Jody Williams Nobel laureate

  • desmondtutu

    “With your support, we can take ICAN its full distance – all the way to zero nuclear weapons.”

    Desmond Tutu Nobel laureate

  • herbiehancock

    “Because I cannot tolerate these appalling weapons, I whole-heartedly support ICAN.”

    Herbie Hancock Jazz musician

  • dalailama

    “I can imagine a world without nuclear weapons, and I support ICAN.”

    Dalai Lama Nobel laureate